Home > Uncategorized > Kai Ping in Guangdong (Ancestral Village)

Kai Ping in Guangdong (Ancestral Village)

Sunset on the roof

Gray tiles, thatched roofs and flapping shingles. Lightless streets & clay orange moons. Cold winds billowing from a changing backdrop. Quiet activities in time with day & night. They probably mean little to the people here. It’s those who have come back or those who have never been that find this place charming.

I am one of them. I would want to stay here for as long as I can. Ensconced away in a place where time is marked by orange glows on different horizons.

 

Night-time on the roof

It’s freaky living in a place that has not been used in a while. I clambered up to the balcony for a fag & to enjoy the night. The unlit stairs was daunting. Not because it was steep but because I can imagine old ghosts holding court there.

Dead silence could be the whispers of fore-gentry gossiping about us. A fleeting shape could be the dead out for a stroll.

But there’s nothing except for me & my thoughts. All rolled in cigarette paper & smoked away in the cold air.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 1, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    I really have no idea about Kai Ping, i will ask my friend. Btw, my friend went to Guangdong, as her boyfriend(net-friend) is there.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

