Home > Uncategorized > Thoughts on Malaysia

Thoughts on Malaysia

Thoughts on Malaysia

Length of stay: 10th August 2006 to 26th August 2006.

Federation never impressed me as the place to go. It was just a stop for Singaporeans to get cheap food, clothes and little else. Even the TV ads promoting Malaysian tourism suggested the same same.

I should skip it and spend my time in smiley Thailand, laidback Laos, mysterious Cambodia or even irritating Vietnam. Maybe blow into China for a quick ride on the Lhasa – Chengdu railway.

I went to Malaysia anyways, bussing into the country with colourful and cocky thoughts:

“Singapore’s got Malays and Malaysia’s full of them. What’s the damn difference whether I see them in Singapore or in Malaysia? They’re all the same.”
“Malaysia’s all moss-coated and crack-ridden buildings. What a second-hand dump!”
“The Singapore dollar is mightier than the Malaysian Ringgit. So they scrape and bow for our currency while reviling us at the same time. Hypocritical bastards.”

I must have strode in like some conqueror on his high pouncy horse, all frilled up and ready to take the pitiful country by storm. I waltzed along the East Coast for sixteen days from Taman Negara to Keroh.

During that time, I fell victim to acts of kindness. Life floated me downstream without fuss and taught me humility before betters. I slept rough and shivered when crazies ranted at ghosts hiding behind banana trees. I lost my good humor at undeserving folks and ran far far away in shame. I walked a good portion of the day into the ground while conducting an experiment on everyone zooming past me.

 I’m still not sure why I went.

But it doesn’t matter at all.  

 My Malaysian Itinerary  

Place

Length of stay (days)

Johore Bahru

Kuala Tahan (gateway to Taman Negara)

2

Taman Negara

4

Kuala Tahan (gateway to Taman Negara)

2

Kuantan

1

Kuala Terengganu

2

Merang

2

Jertih

1

Jeli

1

Total

15

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

