Home > Observations > Those who forget the past are doomed to repeat it.

Those who forget the past are doomed to repeat it.

 
Have you ever looked around your neighbourhood and, for the life of you, can’t remember what used to be there? Don’t worry, you’re not the only one.
 
Went to the Line at Shangri-la and had a smashing brunch; Sangria and Bloody-strong-Marys did the mashing. On the way home, I passed by Nanyang Girls High. Then I sees bright green hordings with the following splashed across it:
"HILLCREST VILLAS! FOR EXCLUSIVE LIVING."
 
Fine. Another condominium developed for the newly-rich (are you reading this fresh graduates who pull in more money than I do now!?! *Shakes fist*). For the life of me, I couldn’t remember what stood there. Was it an empty patch of land? No. Was it a building? Maybe. Was it National JC’s running track? Can’t be. It’s still there.

It took some effort (2 hours later) before it struck me. It used to be the Telecoms Training Academy. I used to bluff my way in for swimming lessons and karaoke sessions. It disturbed me profoundly; like my memory’s tied into bricks and mortar of the shops. Take them away or turn them into something else; my recollection becomes a little hazy (it’s not age; you sad fuckers) and recent changes seem as if it’s been that way since forever.

 
My peers seem to accept it and forget how it was – both the good and bad.
Even with prompting, they can only offer vague recollections or exaggerated descriptions. And so do I.
 
Oh dear. So how to keep our memory intact?
Categories: Observations
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

