Home > Observations > Good weekend – starved.

Good weekend – starved.

 
It’s a grey weekend; heavy with rain and sweeping wind. I kept thinking that the day’s stuck at 7.01pm; just after dusk. It affected me so much that I would have stayed in bed all Sunday if my dad hadn’t dragged me out of bed for lunch. Ordinarily, the lack of sunlight and bright skies would get me down.

 
Not this weekend. It’s good to stay in and do nothing. The last few weeks of hectic-ness was getting to me. I was out of sorts and tremendously weighed down. In fact, I ahad a goal this weekend – I wanted to clean up my chapters. To hell with them. I’ll deal with them next week. 
 
Today, I need good books, torpor and ironically people. 
 
Yesterday, I had wandered around Orchard and its surroundings with C. We spent nine hours together: walking; chatting; hanging out; photographing gargolyes, statues and birdcages; gawking at pretty faries flying around on a tow line. I enjoyed those nine hours; it’s been a long while since I’ve last ‘floated around with someone’ and C’s great company.
 
It also drove home that I’m starved for human contact.
 
Proper human contact. Not the PR kind. Not the girlfriend / boyfriend kind. Not the virtual kind ala MSN or email. Simply ‘real’, un-masked human contact. Alan Cislaghi – a friend who lives in Beijing – sums it up best, "I do things which shock people. Because I want them to reach out and touch each other. Engage with each other!" After which, he dropped his pants and danced on the bartop – proudly swinging both penis and balls infront of the bartender.
 
There were cries of shock, hurrahs of outrage and an incensed barman tried to knock him down. Yet his wild 老外 (foreigner) antic brought people together. Previous strangers now talked and laughed with each other. Smiles were bigger. Actions more animated. Alan fulfilled his objectives. He got everyone reaching out to each other.
 
So this was a grey weekend which showed me what I was missing out on.
I don’t know if I’ll seek out contact next week.
 
But I certainly hope so.
Categories: Observations
  1. Waynne
    August 20, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Me too..it\’s been a while since I talked this much:)

    Like

  2. edwin
    August 20, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Heh… it feels good to get things off your chest yah? 

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

